Authorguy's Blog

Fanfics

Posted on: February 6, 2012


I don’t usually write fanfics. I get all hung up sometimes about using someone else’s characters and making sure the voices sound right and all that stuff that applies to anyone monkeying around in someone else’s back yard. It’s possible they may like what you did with their flower beds, but then again…

I do take inspiration from other people’s work, usually negative.

  • ‘Why did they do that?’
  • ‘I could have done this better.’
  • ‘I’d rather the story went this way…’

Many times I take these ideas and use them to enhance my own stories. Not in any way that violates copyright, of course, but there’s no need to say where the idea came from or use names anyway. It’s the scenario that matters.

A fanfic is a different beast, and there are different types of fanfic. Many are enhancements of something, a story written to add corroborative detail to an otherwise bald and unconvincing narrative. Or it could be hairy and convincing, but not enough for the guy writing the fanfic. Some TV shows try to mirror their weekly schedule in the script, and fanfics are written to fill in the gaps. One fanfic author I especially like blithely ignores the romantic tension plot of our mutual favorite series and has the characters expressing their affection openly, if not explicitly.

What makes a fanfic work for me is whether or not the storyline of the original story needs to be changed to accommodate it, a technique known as retcon, for retroactive continuity. (I’ve read some novels that try to do the same thing, which to me is a sign of bad writing. We won’t even mention Highlander 2.) The less ‘retconning’ there is, the better the fanfic, at least to me. My respect for the logic flow of the original story sort of requires me to try to carry it forward into any fanfics I read, or write. A story that at least doesn’t contradict the original is minimally OK. If the logic flows into the fanfic, if the fanfic explains something in the original story using the story’s own logic (which I’ll call explanatory power), so much the better. (Of course the author of the fanfic may have a different idea of what that logic flow is than I do, in which case he’s wrong.) Clearly multiple fanfics can be written to extend or embellish any story at any point, and as long as they satisfy my criteria I’d say they were all equally good, qua fanfic. The actual writing may still suck.

I have so far written all of two fanfics, not counting the scenes in my books which were inspired by other stories. Those were scenes, not complete stories, and the characters were my own. I’ll give you points if you can tell me what the scenes are and what the inspirations were. Points are cheap.

My only reason so far for writing a fanfic is that I felt a complete or partial lack of closure to a story arc, i.e., the logic is incomplete. Incomplete logic annoys me in and of itself, which often means that the story itself bothers me, given how tied together the two are. My first fanfic was written solely to scratch an itch inflicted upon me by the TV series Chuck, back in season three, when a story arc that stretched for four episodes ended abruptly, without a happy resolution, or even a sad one. I suppose I could have lived with a sad one, but since I prefer happy endings that’s what my fanfic gave her, sort of. It’s on this site as Free Story #2, above. It was a short exercise for a minor character. No retcon involved, nor any explanatory power.

I just finished my second fanfic yesterday. Again it is for the series Chuck, one of the few TV shows to have characters that involved me enough that I would care enough about them to write a fanfic. The series just ended, and the final episode ends with a major plotline unresolved. The producers say this is to allow viewers to make up their own endings, but the more likely explanation is that they wanted a hook to hang a new series or movie possibility onto. Innocent that I am, this rather cynical second possibility did not even occur to me until after I’d plotted out the fanfic I wanted to tell, to resolve the plotline as I felt it ought to be resolved, i.e., no retconning, maximum explanatory power, and an HEA.

This was the fastest writing I’ve ever done, 7K words in three days, or about 9 pages a day. The characters were there and I knew them all and loved them. I believe they all act in character and sound right. I knew the story intimately, and even though the logic isn’t exactly the tightest in the world, there were certain conventions to be observed and standards to be upheld, and I think I did. It’s one of the few I’ve ever plotted out from beginning to end, or was able to. This story wanted to be written and it wanted to be written right now! (Plus I’m in the middle of another novel and job-hunting so I really don’t have a lot of time.)

I sent it out to a few beta-readers already, and I’m hoping to post it either tonight or tomorrow. If you like the show Chuck I hope you’ll check out my story and tell me what you think.  For other fanfics about all sorts of stories, not just TV, check out fanfiction.net. I’m sure there are others.

Remember, all authors love feedback. If you have a favorite author, write and tell him so. Tell his publisher so. The only way to keep the stuff you love available is to spread the love and spread the word.

6 Responses to "Fanfics"

It’s interesting to read your take on fanfiction. I’ve written quite a few, but hardly any of them have been shared. I have to admit, my own reasons for writing them are mostly because I think there’s a missing scene, something needs to be addressed that wasn’t in the original, or if I just flat out disliked the ending.

None of my fanfiction is particularly good, my original work is far better, I suppose because I can’t make my own creations ‘OOC’ but I think I’ve learnt quite a lot from the experience. Mostly plotting out a beginning, middle and end, and most importantly, proving to myself that I can actually finish something, even if they aren’t my own characters. Now I’ve moved on from fanfiction to start my own original pieces, I think I wouldn’t be the writer I am today without having messed around with it. Well, I say I’ve moved on, but who doesn’t get randomly attacked by rabid plot-bunnies every now and again?

Anyway, best of luck with your new one, and with your original work, too! I really enjoyed your post, so thank you!

Like

Thank you! Your reasons sound like my reasons.
It is good practice. My latest had me writing in a somewhat different style than I normally do, less descriptive, more action and dialog. I was watching my own episode in my head and writing out the script. I can go into it assuming the reader knows something already and I don’t have to explain it all. On the other hand I lost half a day trying to develop the imagery needed for the climax of the story.

Like

I’ve always been a prolific writer of fanfiction over the years. What fandoms I write will depend on what I’m interested in at the time.

I enjoy writing fanfiction because I love taking characters/settings/scenarios from one fandom and either exploring them deeper… or challenging myself and creating crossovers between two fandoms I enjoy… or take the end of one storyline and give it a “what if this happened instead of that” spin. I love writing my own original content as well, make no mistake. However, a part of me loves the unique challenges writing in another person’s sandbox poses, so to speak.

On my blog, I’m in the process of gradually posting a fanfiction novella I wrote last year. Somehow (and I’m still not entirely certain how), I managed to write nearly 80k words of a Batman(DC Comics)/White Collar(USA Network) crossover.

I will have to take the time to look at your fanfiction when I get a spare moment, though. As much as I like writing my own stories, I love reading others’ works as well.

Like

Thanks. I’m not sure when it will be posted but it should be soon.
Batman & White Collar?

Like

Heh. Yeah. DC Comics “Batman” universe crossed over with the USA Network original drama “White Collar” universe.

http://bycrscott.wordpress.com/fanfiction/confidence-lost/

This is the link to the overview of the story. It’s a crossover that explores the concept that one of Batman’s former Robins, a teenager by the name of Tim Drake, somehow ended up becoming Neal Caffrey, a white collar criminal currently working for the FBI as a consultant under a work release program.

I started writing it on a whim and a need for escapism. I’d just been laid off and I needed to get out of my own head in a major way. This weird, but satisfying crossover did just the trick for the time when I was out of work and having to move my family cross country just to secure a job.

Like

I have written one fanfic short story, actually as part of a contest many years ago. I wrote it in the world of Stephen King’s THE STAND, though I used my own characters and settings. (I used Boulder and Las Vegas as a way of distinguishing between my characters…) My own reason for entering the contest was because I wanted to read even more about that world, what happened in my own community.

Like

Leave a Reply

Unbinding the Stone

A Warrior Made

A Warrior Made

Click here to BUY NOW!

St. Martin’s Moon

St. Martin's Moon

Click cover to Buy Now!

Ghostkiller

Chasing His Own Tale

Click Here to Buy Now!

Struck By Inspiration

Struck By Inspiration

Click here to Buy Now!

Steampunk Santa

Click here to Buy Now!

Bite Deep

Christmas among the vampires!

Click Here to BUY NOW!

Click here to buy NOW!

Cyber-pirates. Sort of.

Click here to BUY NOW!

Off the Map

Reality TV...without the Reality!

Author Guy’s Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 625 other followers

What has gone before

Blog Stats

  • 8,641 hits
