Authorguy's Blog

A Christmas Carol

Posted on: November 2, 2011


You’d think it was a bit early for a blog post about Christmas, and you’re right, it is. That’s why it’s a good thing this post isn’t about Christmas but about the book. I am a member of a group on GoodReads.com (although I’m not sure why, given their hostility towards authors) that’s decided to select a story about winter as the group read for December. Some smart person suggested Dickens as a classic winter tale, and I seconded it, in part because it’s freely available on the web. They have the vote early so people can then get the book, and then they can read it, in time to discuss it, at which point it is Christmas.

My own personal favorite version of the story is the version starring George C. Scott. His portrayal of Scrooge as someone who has forgotten his humanity rang much truer to me than as someone who had to be ‘scared straight.’ The ghosts were also a vast improvement, this was one of the few movies I’ve seen where they were actually scary! The grin on the face of Christmas Past, the open anger from Christmas Present–perfect stuff. Marley’s mouth falling open, and his scream of anguish…

I went out and found the original text mainly because I’d had it up to here with all the different versions of the story that had been made into movies. It’s like every actor wants to play either the President, Hamlet, or Scrooge. So many people claimed that the Alastair Sim version was the best that I even saw it online on youtube, where it exists in 10 parts or something. It was okay, I thought, but the scenes with the dying sister were a little over the top for my taste.

Which is part of why I found the story. Many of the scenes in these movies aren’t in there at all, and it’s no wonder that they ring false with the rest of the story. So many movies take so many liberties with the story that I wanted to know which, if any, were even close to the original. Not that keeping to the script would necessarily make a great movie, but given the script it probably wouldn’t hurt (I saw a variation on the Pirates of Penzance that was just awful).

Do you have a favorite version? How close was it to the original story?

Leave a Reply

Struck By Inspiration

Struck By Inspiration

Click here to Buy Now!

St. Martin’s Moon

St. Martin's Moon

Click cover to Buy Now!

Steampunk Santa

Click here to Buy Now!

Bite Deep

Christmas among the vampires!

Click Here to BUY NOW!

Unbinding the Stone

Book 1

Click here to Buy Now!

A Warrior Made

A Warrior Made

Click here to BUY NOW!

Chasing His Own Tale

Click Here to Buy Now!

Click here to buy NOW!

Cyber-pirates. Sort of.

Click here to BUY NOW!

Off the Map

Author Guy’s Tweets

  • @bpcooper I appreciate the movie, Mr. Cooper. I do for others what I hope others would do for me, if they thought my work was worth it. 4 days ago
  • Started off with La La Land, a great musical, with a Casablanca-style romance. 1 week ago
  • I also tried Vertigo. Not a great film. The bad guy wins, the hero suffers, the female lead loses everything. A wasted couple of hours. 1 week ago
  • Just saw a great suspense movie called Time Lapse. A trio discovers a camera that photographs tomorrow. Great acting, tight story, no SFX. 1 week ago
  • The Power of Story authorguy.wordpress.com/2017/07/23/the… 4 weeks ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 633 other followers

What has gone before

Blog Stats

  • 8,534 hits
