Authorguy's Blog

Finishing touches

Posted on: January 31, 2011


I finally finished watching all the episodes of Dead Like Me, a TV series that aired some years back.  It was about a girl, Georgia Lass, who gets killed by a falling toilet seat (falling from Earth orbit, that is, and going a good clip at the time), and is inducted into the ranks of the grim reapers, recently dead people who make the whole ‘death’ thing work by collecting souls and sending them on. Poor George didn’t have much of a life, though, so she didn’t have an ‘on’ to move to. Like Kfir Luzzatto’s book Crossing the Meadow, the show is an exploration, an examination and discovery of the meaning of life on the part of those who are no longer burdened by the business of living.

Unfortunately the show was cancelled after only 2 seasons, 2 very good seasons, but they decided to make a movie about it a few years later. So now I want to get the movie follow-up, which seems to be causing my son some trouble. He can’t seem to understand why I want to see the whole story. I understand the show didn’t have the same number of threads going as, say, Firefly, but I really don’t like it when shows are cancelled incomplete. I was very happy with Wonderfalls when they managed to wrap up most of the story threads with a mini-arc at the end. I was very unhappy with Tru Calling when they cancelled it in mid-season and there has been no follow-up or wrap up in any way. In some respects I’m even a little unhappy with the Dead Like Me follow-up, based on the plot synopsis I found, but I’ve seen a lot of synopses for the show that were dead wrong so I’m hoping for the best.

Don’t you pine for closure? I do. In fact, I’ve even refused to read books that disrupt the closure of previous books. Jack Chalker’s Wellworld books were brilliant, so much so that when he decided to write more books in that series I had no desire to touch them. Dave Duncan’s Seventh Sword books are perfect as they are, and I would hate to see him go back there. Fortunately he did a fairly definitive wrap-up that should make that impossible.

On another note…

My publisher sent me the cover art for my newest Echelon short story release, Ex Libris.

And…

I just received a review for my next novel, St. Martin’s Moon!

All sorts of good things happening today.

4 Responses to "Finishing touches"

Great cover, Marc!

Like

I completely agree. I only wish it had been my idea!

Like

I totally agree. It really aggravates me when a series I enjoy gets canceled just when things are getting interesting. It’s happened to me over and over: Firefly, Torchwood (& the follow-up movie didn’t help!), The Sarah Connor Chronicles, etc. Sometimes they’ll do a follow-up movie, but too often they, too, are not quite satisfactory – still leave threads and questions unanswered. Sigh.

Love the cover, Marc – story’s pretty good, too!

Like

I don’t mind if some threads are left unresolved. The downside of a complete HEA with all threads tied off is that there’s no clear idea of an After to be Happy in. The story ends Now.

I can happily imagine Reggie living HEA now that she’s seen her sister just the once. I just hope they don’t muck up her HEA trying to give other people an HEA.

Like

Leave a Reply

Unbinding the Stone

A Warrior Made

A Warrior Made

Click here to BUY NOW!

St. Martin’s Moon

St. Martin's Moon

Click cover to Buy Now!

Ghostkiller

Chasing His Own Tale

Click Here to Buy Now!

Struck By Inspiration

Struck By Inspiration

Click here to Buy Now!

Steampunk Santa

Click here to Buy Now!

Bite Deep

Christmas among the vampires!

Click Here to BUY NOW!

Click here to buy NOW!

Cyber-pirates. Sort of.

Click here to BUY NOW!

Off the Map

Reality TV...without the Reality!

Author Guy’s Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 625 other followers

What has gone before

Blog Stats

  • 8,641 hits
