Authorguy's Blog

Serendipity

Posted on: June 28, 2010


What is it with today?

First off, I feel really tired and run down, so much so that I just sit in front of my computer this morning and write nothing, not even a blog for all of my loyal reader out there.  Oh Hell, I get a lot of hits lately, I’m sure that number must be more than one by now.  (Hi, Mom!)

At my day job, several people called in sick, and one just got back from vacation with massive jet lag.  Then I check a blog or two by some authors I like and one of them is on the subject of writing when you feel unmotivated and the other discusses Writer’s Block!

“Looks like someone’s got a case of the Mondays!”

So in honor of Monday, I’m going to ask my reader(s) a question, which hopefully someone can answer.  Yesterday I read a blog on the subject of the Hook, in terms of writing.  Most of her examples were first lines.  I was not under the impression that Hooks were as concrete as that in a story.  I always thought that a hook was related to the theme of the story, or even the plot, rather than a specific sentence in a particular place.

Can anyone explain this to me?

Leave a Reply

Struck By Inspiration

Struck By Inspiration

Click here to Buy Now!

St. Martin’s Moon

St. Martin's Moon

Click cover to Buy Now!

Steampunk Santa

Click here to Buy Now!

Bite Deep

Christmas among the vampires!

Click Here to BUY NOW!

Unbinding the Stone

Book 1

Click here to Buy Now!

A Warrior Made

A Warrior Made

Click here to BUY NOW!

Chasing His Own Tale

Click Here to Buy Now!

Click here to buy NOW!

Cyber-pirates. Sort of.

Click here to BUY NOW!

Off the Map

Author Guy’s Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 637 other followers

What has gone before

Blog Stats

  • 8,506 hits
